The Candidate's Daughter by Catherine Lea

The Candidate's Daughter

By Catherine Lea

  • Release Date: 2015-12-15
  • Genre: Literary
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

A stolen child. A grieving mother. And a political campaign that takes no prisoners.

The plan is simple: kidnap the daughter of Senate candidate Richard McClaine, take the money and run. Nobody gets hurt, the kid goes home alive. 

Twenty-two-year-old car thief Kelsey Money thinks it's the worst scheme her boyfriend Matt and his drug-fueled brother have ever come up with. But Matt's the planner. He's the one Kelsey's always relied on.

Then she discovers the part she wasn’t told - that six-year-old Holly isn’t going home alive. So, Kelsey makes a decision. It's one that'll take her whole world apart. And once she starts, there's no going back.

Elizabeth McClaine can't even tell the police what her daughter was wearing when she disappeared. Soon after Holly was born with Down Syndrome and a cleft palate, she was placed in the care of a nanny while her mother battled postpartum depression. When Holly is kidnapped and Elizabeth learns the detective on the case has already failed one kidnapped child, she vows not to fail hers.

The clock is ticking. Both women have twenty-four hours to find Holly because in twenty-five, she’ll be dead. 

The Candidate's Daughter and its sequel Child of the State are additions to the great action and character-driven mystery and suspense thrillers in the tradition of J.D. Robb, Faye Kellerman, and Mary Higgins Clark.

(Warning: Some language may offend)

 

What readers are saying about The Candidate's Daughter

"A terrific ticking-clock thriller." 

"...political suspense of the best kind."

"...makes you want to stop and read it all over again."

 

Start reading today!

keyboard_arrow_up