Under the Eagle (Eagles of the Empire 1) by Simon Scarrow

Under the Eagle (Eagles of the Empire 1)

By Simon Scarrow

  • Release Date: 2008-09-04
  • Genre: Historical
Score: 4
4
From 6 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

UNDER THE EAGLE is the gripping first novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling EAGLES OF THE EMPIRE series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Praise for Simon Scarrow's compelling novels: 'Gripping and moving' The Times

AD 42, Germany. Tough, brutal and unforgiving. That's how new recruit Cato is finding life in the Roman Second Legion. He may have contacts in high places, but he could really use a friend amongst his fellow soldiers right now.

Cato has been promoted above his comrades at the order of the Emperor and is deeply resented by the other men. But he quickly earns the respect of his Centurion, Macro, a battle-hardened veteran as rough and ready as Cato is quick-witted and well-educated. They are poles apart, but soon realise they have a lot to learn from one another.

On a campaign to Britannia - a land of utter barbarity - an enduring friendship begins. But as they undertake a special mission to thwart a conspiracy against the Emperor they rapidly find themselves in a desperate fight to survive...

Reviews

  • Under the Eagle

    5
    By fshbar
    It has been ten or more years since I read a book. Suddenly I found myself compelled to spend nearly every spare moment reading this book. Cato’s Journey had me excited for the book to come to the end but when I got there said that was over I’m so glad there’s more in the series.

keyboard_arrow_up